News Archives

Gardner elected to ITG Board of Directors

GardnerDr. Ryan Gardner, music professor of trumpet at Oklahoma State University, continues to add to the department’s list of honors with his election to the board of directors for the International Trumpet Guild (ITG).

The world’s premier organization of trumpeters boasting more than 5,000 members in 56 countries, the ITG fosters communication between trumpet players around the world, supporting global teaching, performance, and literature efforts. This will be Gardner’s first full term on the board of directors, after being appointed in 2015 to finish out a previous member’s term.

“I am extremely honored to represent my trumpet colleagues on the Board of Directors,” Gardner said. “I’ll be able to bring world wide recognition to Oklahoma State University for our musical achievements. The ITG is an incredible organization, and I’m honored to be able to give back to this community.”

Members of the Board of Directors are elected by ITG members to four-year terms. Gardner will begin his term effective Oct. 1.

Other members of the Board include:

Grant Peters – Missouri State University (President Elect)
Kevin Elsensmith – Indiana University (Secretary)
Tina Erickson – University of Tennessee
Chase Sanborn – University of Toronto
Raquel Rodriquez – Tennessee Technological University
Jason Bergman – University of North Texas
Elisa Koehler – Goucher College