News Archives

Broadcasters bring home BEA awards

Broadcast students from the OSU School of Media and Strategic Communications and OState TV made a sweeping impact at the Broadcast Education Association awards, bringing several honors home from the Las Vegas ceremony April 24.

Ali Brooks took home first place in the Television News Anchor division, while Brian Shrull took home first in the Television Sports Story/Feature category for his story. “Rules Misinterpretation Changes.”

Kurtis Quillen and Caleb Surley earned second in TV Sports News Program for an episode of “The Poke Report.” Third place finishers include Amelia Henderson in Television Sports Talent (Anchor/Host); and Gerald Tracy and Annice McEwan in TV Newscast (three days a week or less).

Earning Awards of Excellence were Julia Benbrook and Alli Hill in Television News Magazine; Mikalya Barker and Nicholas Skidmore in TV Sports News Program; and Annice McEwan, Baillie Burmaster, and Kurtis Quillin in TV Sports News Program.